Phone number in International format
Phone number in International format
Hi,
Is there any way to display phone number in Australian format?
I would like my wireless phone number as 0437 393 532, but Open Dental displays as (043)739-3532.
Thank you in advance.
Awadh
Is there any way to display phone number in Australian format?
I would like my wireless phone number as 0437 393 532, but Open Dental displays as (043)739-3532.
Thank you in advance.
Awadh
- jordansparks
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5770
- Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 3:59 pm
- Location: Salem, Oregon
- Contact:
Re: Phone number in International format
What you see is always how it is in the database so that you can include prefixes, suffixes, extensions, notes, odd spacing, etc. So the trick is to get the format the way you want it as entering. The autoformat feature does add as you type, but only in certain situations. After you hit the 3rd digit, it will add the first opening parenthesis before the 3 numbers. If you delete that parenthesis, then it will not try to format any numbers after that. But if your computer region is not set to USA, then it should not auto format in any case.
Jordan Sparks, DMD
http://www.opendental.com
http://www.opendental.com
Re: Phone number in International format
Hi Jordan,
Some international users need to have their country code added when sending text messages.
For text messaging purposes, Is there a place where we can add the country code for all patients phone numbers , in one time, in Open Dental?
Thank you
Some international users need to have their country code added when sending text messages.
For text messaging purposes, Is there a place where we can add the country code for all patients phone numbers , in one time, in Open Dental?
Thank you
- jordansparks
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5770
- Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 3:59 pm
- Location: Salem, Oregon
- Contact:
Re: Phone number in International format
I don't know the answer to that question. I'm not involved with texting.
Jordan Sparks, DMD
http://www.opendental.com
http://www.opendental.com
Re: Phone number in International format
Hi Jordan,
Thank you for responding to my question.
The timezone on My computer is set to "(UTC+10:00) Canberra, Melbourne, sydney".
I changed it using Setting->Time & Language->Time zone
and region is set to Australia and Region Format is set to English (Australia). So it is not USA.
BTW: I did not mention it in my previous post, but it is hapening when I generate statement.
Which screen should i delete the parenthesis in?
I have written phone number in "Edit Clinic" screen and there is no parenthesis there.
Awadh
Thank you for responding to my question.
The timezone on My computer is set to "(UTC+10:00) Canberra, Melbourne, sydney".
I changed it using Setting->Time & Language->Time zone
and region is set to Australia and Region Format is set to English (Australia). So it is not USA.
BTW: I did not mention it in my previous post, but it is hapening when I generate statement.
Which screen should i delete the parenthesis in?
I have written phone number in "Edit Clinic" screen and there is no parenthesis there.
Awadh
Re: Phone number in International format
Hi Jordan,
I found the problem (I THINK!!!! but not sure)......
It seems that the code formats phone if condition below is true.
if(PrefC.GetString(PrefName.PracticePhone).Length==10){
field.FieldValue+="("+PrefC.GetString(PrefName.PracticePhone).Substring(0,3)+")"+PrefC.GetString(PrefName.PracticePhone).Substring(3,3)+"-
"+PrefC.GetString(PrefName.PracticePhone).Substring(6)+"\r\n";
}
Most of the places in the solution the code also checks if CultureInfo.CurrentCulture.Name=="en-US" is true.
i.e.
if(CultureInfo.CurrentCulture.Name=="en-US" && phone.Length==10)
But the code does not check for this condition (CultureInfo.CurrentCulture.Name=="en-US") in files sheetFilter.cs and FormRpStatement.cs.
The formatting code also exist in file FormCCDPrint.cs, but the code is so complex, it is way beyond my capability to understand.
Awadh
I found the problem (I THINK!!!! but not sure)......
It seems that the code formats phone if condition below is true.
if(PrefC.GetString(PrefName.PracticePhone).Length==10){
field.FieldValue+="("+PrefC.GetString(PrefName.PracticePhone).Substring(0,3)+")"+PrefC.GetString(PrefName.PracticePhone).Substring(3,3)+"-
"+PrefC.GetString(PrefName.PracticePhone).Substring(6)+"\r\n";
}
Most of the places in the solution the code also checks if CultureInfo.CurrentCulture.Name=="en-US" is true.
i.e.
if(CultureInfo.CurrentCulture.Name=="en-US" && phone.Length==10)
But the code does not check for this condition (CultureInfo.CurrentCulture.Name=="en-US") in files sheetFilter.cs and FormRpStatement.cs.
The formatting code also exist in file FormCCDPrint.cs, but the code is so complex, it is way beyond my capability to understand.
Awadh
- jordansparks
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5770
- Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 3:59 pm
- Location: Salem, Oregon
- Contact:
Re: Phone number in International format
Ah, I would call that a bug. Good find. One of our engineers will notice this post and add it to the bug list.
Jordan Sparks, DMD
http://www.opendental.com
http://www.opendental.com
Re: Phone number in International format
I added this bug to our list. I'll update this forum when a fix has been released.
Re: Phone number in International format
Hello awadh11, the phone number formatting should not apply to statements starting in 21.2.41.0;21.3.16.0 when released. Please let me know if it still occurs after updating to one of these versions or later.
Re: Phone number in International format
Hello rhaber123, we do not have a tool in text messaging that would do this. Please submit a feature request if you'd like this.