MYSQL to MariaDB conversion

For users or potential users.
Post Reply
Tom Zaccaria
Posts: 322
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 4:09 am

MYSQL to MariaDB conversion

Post by Tom Zaccaria » Mon Aug 30, 2021 4:33 am

Anyone out there made the conversion from MYSQL to MariaDB that was not a new installation?
I did it over the weekend on a backup machine. Uses the file on the installation page. Fairly straight forward. One minor glitch overall. Took about an hour. Unless they can somehow speedup the process or I am missing something, it will take a lot of time to convert each workstation at the office.
Again, anyone out there tried this yet?

drtmz

SriramChellappan
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 3:45 pm

Re: MYSQL to MariaDB conversion

Post by SriramChellappan » Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:59 pm

Are you using Middle tier? I am assuming with Middle tier the workstation upgrade shouldn't be that much.

teethdood
Posts: 262
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:39 am
Location: Visalia, CA
Contact:

Re: MYSQL to MariaDB conversion

Post by teethdood » Fri Sep 03, 2021 8:24 pm

I just ran the ODDbmsUpgrade tool on Windows server 2019 running MySQL 5.5. I got the following error:

09/03/21 20:21:33:801 #GetAllMySQL Error Code:201
Requested registry access is not allowed.
09/03/21 20:21:33:810 #DBMSProgram list is empty. Error Code:203
Services:
Programs:MySQL Server 5.5
09/03/21 20:21:33:811 #No DBMS services of type 'MariaDB' detected.
Please run this tool on the computer that has the DBMS service installed or contact support for assistance.
Philip H. Doan, DDS
http://www.kaweahdental.com/

dqadri
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 11:55 pm
Location: Colonia, NJ
Contact:

Re: MYSQL to MariaDB conversion

Post by dqadri » Sat Sep 04, 2021 3:50 am

Tom Zaccaria wrote:
Mon Aug 30, 2021 4:33 am
Anyone out there made the conversion from MYSQL to MariaDB that was not a new installation?
I did it over the weekend on a backup machine. Uses the file on the installation page. Fairly straight forward. One minor glitch overall. Took about an hour. Unless they can somehow speedup the process or I am missing something, it will take a lot of time to convert each workstation at the office.
Again, anyone out there tried this yet?

drtmz

Unless I'm not understanding what you are doing, you should only be doing this on your main server where the database is being hosted. Not on each workstation. The workstations should still be able to connect without any hiccups.

I did a conversion about two years ago.
--
Danish Qadri, DMD

Lake Family Dentistry
296 Lake Ave
Colonia, NJ 07067

Post Reply